Lent

Wikipedia describes lent this way:

Lent in the Christian tradition, is the period of the liturgical year leading up to Easter. Lent is a time of sacrifice for Jesus. The traditional purpose of Lent is the preparation of the believer — through prayer, repentance, almsgiving and self-denial — for the annual commemoration during Holy Week of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus, which recalls the events linked to the Passion of Christ and culminates in Easter, the celebration of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Conventionally, it is described as being forty days long, though different denominations calculate the forty days differently. The forty days represent the time that, according to the Bible, Jesus spent in the desert before the beginning of his public ministry, where he endured temptation by Satan.

And so with this in mind today I am giving up Facebook for lent. If you asked me I would tel yo that I am not at all addicted to Facebook, and theat I could give it up for any amount of time at the drop of a hat. I guess we will see if this proves to be true after 40 days being out of the “Facebook world”

I am interested to see if I even want to go back to Facebook after that long, I truly feel that the only reason i go on in the first place is 1) boredom 2) habit 3) to play family feud when I am bored

so in the true purpose of fasting something every time I want to go on Facebook I am either going to pray, or read my bible. I be honest I am quite excited about this and I believe that God and I are going to have some fantastic times over the next 40 days and maybe after all is said and done, and easter has passed I will be more apt to reach for my bible before logging on.

Leave a Reply

